Principal Investigator

Brian G. Amsden
Donald and Joan McGeachy Chair in Biomedical Engineering
BASc University of Waterloo (1988)
MASc University of Toronto (1991)
PhD Queen's University (1996)
FBSE 2016

Lab Manager

Post-Doctoral Fellows

PhD Candidates

Hossein Riahinezhad
BSc Materials Engineering, Iran University of Science and Technology
MSc Advanced Materials - Biomaterials, Ulm University
Hossein is developing high modulus and mechanically robust hydrogels for cell delivery for soft connective tissue applications.This project is part of our CONNECT! NSERC CREATE program.
Isaac Thevathasan
B. Eng. Biological Engineering, University of Guelph, 2020
Isaac is developing an aliphatic polycarbonate based pro-angiogenic peptide delivery system to treat critical limb ischemia. This work is being done in collaboration with Dr. David Hess, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at Western University.
Nathan Holwell
BASc in Nanotechnology Engineering, University of Waterloo (2016)
Nathan is continuing further research of a degradable, biomimetic scaffold for anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) repair. The aim of the project is to create an ex vivo scaffold capable of simulating the unique mechanical and biological characteristics of the ACL. This project is part of our CONNECT! NSERC CREATE program. Although he discovered his passion for research early on in his undergraduate career, he also enjoys eating and cooking new foods as well as experimenting with brewing his own beer.
Ronghui Qi
B.Eng in Polymer Science and Engineering, Donghua University (2015)
MSc in Polymer Science, The University of Akron (2016)
Ronghui is working on a self-immolative drug delivery device, which can release therapeutics and undergo deconstruction in response to external triggers. In her spare time, Ronghui likes travelling around the world and watching movies.
Sean Mathew
M.Tech. Chemical Engineering, M.Sc. Nano-biophysics
Institute for Biofunctional Polymer Materials
Leibniz-Institute of Polymer Research Dresden e.V.
Max Bergmann Center of Biomaterials Dresden
Sean is developing a novel scaffolding approach for meniscal tissue engineering. This approach involves the utilization of an additive manufacturing technique called melt electrowriting. This project is part of our CONNECT! NSERC CREATE program in soft connective tissue engineering.

MASc Candidates

Owen MacMillan
B.Eng. Materials Engineering, McMaster University, 2020
Owen is interested in the impact of the composition of plasma proteins adsorbed to polymer biomaterials on macrophage behaviour.
Yuan Pang
B.A.Sc. Chemical Engineering, Dalhousie University, 2021
Yuan is developing methods of chain extending functionalized aliphatic polycarbonates to improve their mechanical properties and exploring the impact of the polymer properties on peptide delivery.


Post-Doctoral Fellows

Kyla Sask
Gad Sabbatier
Roshni Rainbow
Mona Gamal-Eldin
Fraz Anjum
Jing Yan
Jian Yang
Juarez Endaldo Romero Bianco
Zhihan Zhou
Bo Qi
Laurianne Timbart
Elda Bravo-Grimaldo
Gauri Misra



Amanda Brissenden (2022)
Shadi Taghavi (2018)
Sara Mohajeri (2018)
Stuart Young (2017)
Julian Chesterman (2016)
Moira Vyner (2015)
James Hayami (2014)
Oladunni Babasola (2012)
Denver Surrao (2012)
Abby Sukarto (2011)
Rafi Chapanian (2009)
Frank Gu (2006)
Husam Younes (2002)
Arash Hatefi (2002)



Ta Phung (2020)
Mitchell de Prinse (2020)
Fiona Serack (2017)
Bowen Yang (2016)
Dimitra Louka (2015)
Ming Gong (2015)
Andrew Carroll (2015)
Nick Hadjiev (2014)
Ginger Chen (2013)
Justin Lee (2012)
Hoi Ki Cheung (2011)
Laura Cornacchionne (2010)
Aaron McGregor (2009)
Bernadette Ilagan (2007)
Zhang Yu (2006)
James Hayami (2006)
Vivian Wang (2005)
Soroor Sharifpoor (2005)
Darryl Knight (2004)
Norma Turner (2004)
Susan Wang (2002)


Undergraduate: 4th Year Thesis

2023: Gisele Beier, Yunchong Shen 

2022: Charlotte Cameron-Hamilton, Gillian Wun, Nolan Kerr-Dini, Alissa Arstad

2021: Sarah McManus, Jessica Shearer

2020: Christopher Rayner, Isabelle Mahaffy

2019: Allison Cranwill, Brianna Bradley, Emily Munn, Djalal Fakim

2018: Brooke Hall, Nick Wilson, Sheradon Doherty

2017: Brandon Zhao, Tiziana Brescacin, Mitchell de Prinse, Kathryn Corbett

2016: Andrea Whyte, Rachael Murre

2015: Beth McDonald, William Chaplin

2014: Fiona Serack, Anand Lakhani, Locke Davenport Huyer

2013: Laura Burchell, Ramona Neferu, Brittany McGregor, Daniel Marienescu

2012: Christine van Warmerdam, Emily Chan, Muriel Playle

2011: James Ewart, Meghan Rooney

2010: Emily Mattiussi, Nicholas Hadjiev, Marie-Claire Maes

2009: Kelsea Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Fisher, Andrew Woodward, Rossini Yue, Joe Steele, Claire Yu, John Wolozszyn

2008: Sara Richardson, Nikki Apostolakis, Sara Michalowicz, Kevin Marcotte, Sara Soubliere

2007: Alex Lau

2006: Derek Mcfadden, Meghan Marshall

2005: Kevin Williams, Genevieve Gavigan

2004: Daniel Toguri, Andrew Mikhail

2003: Laura Ritchie, Ahmad Kayssi, Allison Gillies, Laura Wells

2002: Justyna Bochanysz, Luke Devine, Aba Mortley, Kristin McLarty, Alyssa Tomkins

2001: Kevin Grotheer, Stephanie Bloom

Undergraduate: Summer Research Student

Stephen Maloney (2016)
Brandon Zhao (2016)
Natalie A. Smith (2015)
Amanda Brissenden (2014)
William Chaplin (2014)